concerts.

I’m going to a Skizzy Mars concert tonight!

My best friends that I’ve known since I was ten, were very into music and introduced me to concerts back in the day. I’ve been hooked ever since. I’ve branched out from the music that I used to listen to and seen a lot of different bands/musicians.

thiscentury


I went to Warped Tour two summers ago, and I’ve seen The Maine twice, Augstana, Neon Trees, 3oh!3, Allstar Weekend twice, Kina Grannis, The Summer Set twice, Owl City, Jay-Z, Nick Santino and the Northern Winds, This Century, Cher Lloyd and my all time favorite, G-Eazy, also twice. 

summerset j-z allstarweekend neontrees

I’m not really on the concert bandwidth, but I definitely try to keep an open eye out on who’s coming when because live shows are amazing. I actually am a big fan of smaller, not necessarily as famous performers because in my personal experience and opinion, they try harder to perform well, and they care more about their fans. A lot of alternative indie/rock bands rely on purely their voices instead of autotune and all of that shit. And when venues don’t have assigned seating (aka it’s standing), you have a chance to get really close to the performer. Not only that, the energy of everyone around you, throbbing to the music is one of the most enthralling things that you could ever experience.

g-eazy g-eazyy

So you might be getting ready for your first concert, or maybe you’re getting ready for your tenth. Either way, there are good things to remember:

1. prepare yourself.
Really basic, but eat before. Drink plenty of water before, Pee before. All very basic things that people tend to overlook.

2. dress practically.
Wear something that you feel confident in, but also something that you can move in/don’t mind getting dirty. I usually wear a tanktop, and some leggings. Something that I like, but also nothing that I would be heartbroken over if someone spilled beer on it.
outfit1 outfit2
Wear a jacket you don’t care much about, and check it into coat check or if you’re a cheapo like me, stuff it into a corner. Retrieve it after the concert so you don’t freeze, but trust me. You don’t need it during.

3. WEAR CLOSED TOED SHOES.
I cannot stress the importance of this. People WILL step on you. It will happen. Protect your little piggies.

4. understand that people will be assholes.
Everyone wants to get as close as they can to the stage. I personally am not above pushing and worming my way through the crowd, but I also have been to a lot of concerts. I like the moshpit sort of thing, but it’s important to understand that everyone wants to be as close to G-Eazy, or Nick Santino, or whomever as they can. People will shove. It’s life. Hold your ground, or shove them back, but it’s nothing to get into an actual fight about.

5. take photos, but focus on the music.
I personally love pictures, but sometimes I’m so focused on getting that perfect shot, or that amazing ten second snapchat story, that I miss the beauty of actually being there and experiencing an artist I really like live. Get that perfect picture, but don’t forget that this is a once in a lifetime experience and cannot be replicated even if you see the same artist again. Every crowd is different, every performance is different. You are there, now. Live in the moment.

6. stick around afterwards.
Don’t be that annoying person, but you never know who you may meet if you hang around a little bit afterwards. I’ve met way more musicians than I’ve ever expected to by being really indecisive at the merch table and taking forever. A lot of them are really nice and way cooler than I ever expected.

7. most of all,
have fun ❤

that’s it for now! Enjoy live music. 🙂 Most performers earn the bulk of their money through concerts. Support the people you love to listen to.

XOXOXO

Leave a comment